Water Fasting Day 1

May 13, 2010 at 1:23 am (Lupus, Uncategorized) (, , )

I am staying at True North Water Fasting Facility in Santa Rosa. It is run by chiropractors which, I am well aware, freaks many people out. But the guy who runs this place, Dr. Alan Goldhamer, D.C., is very experienced and highly intelligent. Chiropractors approach healing naturally, not prescription drugs, which I now think should be the primary approach. Dr. Goldhamer started this operation over 25 years ago. They’re still here and have steadily grown, which I think says a lot. Some people come here to water fast. Some just come to eat the healthy foods, recondition their palates, and learn about healthful living.

I’m sure water fasting sounds absolutely ridiculous or unnecessarily extreme to many. It did to me when I first read about it. But I’ve come to understand that it is a vigorous way of cleansing the body and reprogramming the taste buds. I am motivated to do it for my condition. I have read several books, namely Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s, that insist that therapeutic fasting and a whole food plant based diet can have a significant impact on autoimmune disease, even curing it though it is supposedly incurable. I’m not sure I would do it if I weren’t sick. But I am willing to try anything to avoid a life of medications and possibly serious kidney complications down the road.

The facility here is a converted apartment complex. My suite is a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with a flat screen TV, a lounge chair, twin beds, a couch, a dining table and, ironically, a kitchen. No one would claim that this place is in anyway fancy or luxurious, but it is certainly comfortable and clean. One apartment has been converted into a dining room, with food served in a buffet (I did eat the day of my arrival). It consists of a cold salad bar with fruit, two hot dishes like soup or rice, and a couple of plain steamed vegetables. The only condiments are water based salad dressings, vinegar, lemon wedges, raw seeds, and no-salt seasoning. The food is colorful and fresh with lots of variety, but it is plain, as no oil or salt is used in the preparation. The adjoining apartment is the kitchen, and there is a dedicated chef who prepares all of the meals. There is also a multi-purpose room that includes a kitchen, which is used for cooking and exercise demos.

Upon my arrival, I was shown about the complex by the resident naturopath (I think the interns usually do it, but she was busy). He went over my medical history and explained how things work here. I also met with the MD and had a urine analysis and blood tests done. Because I prepared by changing my diet before I came, I was allowed to start my fast on my second day. I have been eating a vegan diet for 6 months, and I ate a very clean, low oil and low salt diet of mostly fruits and vegetables the week before I came.

Today was not so bad. I was hungry when I thought about food, but it seemed more mental than physical. I’ve started a video diary to describe my experience. Sorry I’m blinking a lot… I think I was a little nervous 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Your husband said,

    While we all miss you terribly here at home, words cannot express how proud I am of your ability to take control of your life and, ultimately, your destiny. You’re doing great, keep on keepin’ on!

    Your loving husband…

  2. Chelsea said,

    Enjoyed reading your blog. You look beautiful and healthier already! 🙂 You’re in our thoughts and prayers and we love you so much. Truly an inspiration!

  3. Kelly said,

    I am loving this blog Kristin!!! You look good girl. And I really like that I can hear your voice and see you. What a great idea.

  4. schoolof1 said,

    Thanks guys… I REALLY appreciate your support! You’re the best… Even though I didn’t know my hubby was going to advertise my blog 🙂 Love you babe!!!

Leave a Reply

